Not for the Timid

Teaching and Learning, Together

Would YOU Get RE-hired

July29

Lately, I have been sitting in on several job interviews.  There are some things your can tell, like personality, pretty easily.  A candidate can share their ability to coach a variety of sports, ask the correct questions about content, and wax poetically, (or not so) about testing and what to do with the results.

 

But, what do we REALLY know about their tech skills?  I have experienced colleagues that say they are tech-savvy, and then they can barely return emails without flooding the system with “reply-alls” or can make and print a word doc with questions, but have no idea what an RSS feed is…  I do believe we need to SHOW our ability, just as our school asks our candidates to actually TEACH a lesson (gasp)!

This post by Scott A. Ziegler caught my attention.  I read the post, was caught nodding my head, and then realized that I might not get a job from Scott!!  Wait!  I AM tech savvy!  I am supposed to be a leader.  Big breath  I have more work to do.

Always learning.  Never done.

by posted under Uncategorized | Comments Off on Would YOU Get RE-hired    

Comments are closed.


Skip to toolbar